Landing Luck by Tracy Krimmer

Humiliation follows Aida Wilde wherever she goes. When her opportunity to prove herself at work goes awry, she's certain her entire future is doomed.

Wes Luedeke seems to have it all as CEO of his own company. But it can be lonely at the top.

Can down on her luck Aida help Wes find his way to happiness? And will outgoing Wes teach Aida to own her embarrassing situations?


Hey! Here's my review.

Aida has been unlucky in life but will she finally become lucky in love? This is a romance novella, so of course she will but the fun is finding out how.
I devoured this book in one sitting. I love all Tracy's books, no matter the page count, and this novella was the perfect length to tell Aida's story. I was emotionally engaged and connected well with Aida.
I'm looking forward to Tracy's next book.

★★★★★

  • Where: Author Invitation
  • Format: ebook

Beneath the Parisian Skies by Alli Sinclair

Hey Everyone!

One of my fellow dancing and romancing writing buddies is unveiling the cover of her next novel. I've read all her previous books and I can't wait to get my hands on the next one.

Alli Sinclair is a multi award-winning author of books that combine travel, mystery, and romance. An adventurer at heart, Alli has climbed some of the world’s highest mountains and immersed herself in an array of exotic destinations, cultures, and languages. Alli’s stories capture the romance and thrill of exploring new destinations and cultures that also take readers on a journey of discovery.
 
Alli volunteers as an author role model with Books in Homespromoting literacy and reading amongst young Australians.
 
Alli can be found at www.allisinclair.com 


And here it is...

Beneath the Parisian Skies by Alli Sinclair



A sweeping saga about love, truth, grief and passion--and what it takes to fulfil a dream.
 
Paris, 1917
Ballerina Viktoriya Budian narrowly escapes Russia with her life. She arrives in Paris, determined to start fresh with the famed Ballets Russes but her newfound success is threatened when her past returns to haunt her. Forced to choose between love and fame, Viktoriya’s life spirals out of control and the decision she makes seriously affects the lives of many for years to come. 
 
Paris, present day
Australian dancer Lily Johansson returns to Paris, the city that broke her heart and destroyed her ballet career, hoping to ease the guilt over her fiancé’s death and to make amends with her estranged sister Natalie, a ballerina with the Bohème Ballet.
 
Terrified of loving again, Lily nevertheless finds herself becoming entangled with talented composer Yves Rousseau. Lily has many reasons for keeping Yves at arm’s length but as he recounts the drama of the Ballets Russes in Paris, the magic of this Bohemian era ignites a spark within her.
 
Meanwhile, vying for the role honouring Ballets Russes dancer Viktoriya Budian, Lily’s sister Natalie develops an unhealthy obsession. Natalie’s behaviour becomes increasingly erratic, Lily fears for her sister’s safety and sanity. So when Natalie goes missing, she and Yves set out on a desperate quest across France to find her and, along the way, battle their own demons.
 
Could the search for her sister, lead Lily to realise that ballet—like love and life—should not be abandoned so easily?
 
RELEASE: July, 2017 Harlequin MIRA
 
BUY LINKS:
 
Amazon.com Kindle: http://amzn.to/2oFfJJ7
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2nFT7no


Beyond the chocolate coma

Hey Everyone!

I've finally come out the other side of my Easter-induced chocolate coma. I just put a piece of chocolate back in the cupboard because I didn't really feel like it. As the foggy haze of sugary goodness slowly lifts, I can see the computer keyboard again and thought I'd better catch up on some of my reviews.

I'm usually organised with my reading, writing the reviews as I finish the book and scheduling them in advance. Between trying to keep up with my own writing, the school holidays and celebrating my 40th birthday on Easter Sunday, my schedule has gone out the window (It's been defenestrated - I've wanted to use that word ever since I learnt it as a teenager thanks to one of my ex-boyfriends who's courting consisted of impressing me with big words and their meanings from The Superior Person's Book of Words by Peter Bowler. Though I'm not sure if I'd find conversations about exungulating toenails or attempting to rhyme firkin, gherkin and merkin quite as appealing these days.)

I've decided to give into the spontaneity of life and post reviews when I get to them instead of burdening myself with deadlines and a posting schedule. I'm letting go of posting every second day, but with the amount that I read, I'll still be posting quite regularly. 

Blink by K.L. Slater

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace. 

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter. 

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.



Hey! Here's my review.

Locked in syndrome fascinates me. I loved it in the sci-fi murder mystery Lock In by John Scalzi. I love the fact that Jean-Dominique Bauby wrote The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by blinking communication, so the concept behind Blink was intriguing. 

I thought I'd figured out the plot early on in the book, but the twists and turns were always one step ahead of me and the ending came as a surprise. If you like psychological thrillers, grab a copy of Blink. 

I reviewed a complimentary copy via NetGalley. Everything I've read from Bookoture has been a winner.


★★★★★

  • Where: NetGalley
  • Format: ebook

Best Friends Forever? No. Best Friends For Now.

Hey Everyone!

I'm excited to share a little project I've been working on over the past few months. Jennifer Collin, a fellow contemporary romance writer, started up a publishing imprint called Duck Soup Press. As described on the website-
Duck Soup Press publishes early readers for children aged 5-11.We turn stories written by children into books. Our mission is to grow kids' love of reading and writing by making them authors.
Jen invited me to submit a story co-written with one of my children for possible publication and to see if I would be interested in working on this venture with her in the future. I love reading and I hope my children will love it as much as I do. As of the beginning of the year, they were both reluctant readers. They love having stories read to them but reading books themselves is a bit of a chore. The Duck Soup Press mission is close to my heart so I jumped at the chance to participate.

My 8-year-old son, Tom, thought it was all too hard (but stay tuned, seeing Molly's book in print might spur him on). One morning, over breakfast, my 6-year-old daughter, Molly, told us a story about a little lady who came out of the wall and helped people. I'm not sure if it was a dream or just her wild imagination, but she agreed to write it down for me. In between working on my other writing projects, Best Friends For Now was born.

Molly named the main character after herself. I included other elements of Molly when I expanded the story - a military child who just moved house and was struggling to make new friends. (Perhaps elements of me as well) Molly had fun drawing her own illustrations, like the one on the cover of Molly and her new best friend for now, Jenny.

Best Friends For Now is about living in the moment. About making the most of the time you have.

Here's the cover...




Best Friends For Now will be available from May 16, 2017. 

Best Friends For Now

Follow Duck Soup Press via your favourite social media channel to find out more.
Instagram - @ducksouppress - https://www.instagram.com/ducksouppress/?hl=en
Twitter - @ducksouppress - https://twitter.com/ducksouppress